skip to content
Chinese Temples Committee


Definition of Chinese Temples

According to the Chinese Temples Ordinance (Chapter 153),"Chinese temple" (華人廟宇) includes -

(a) all Miu (廟, temples), Tsz (寺, Buddhist monasteries), Kun and To Yuen (觀及道院, Taoist monasteries) and Om (庵, nunneries); and
(b) every place where-
  (i) in accordance with the religious principles governing Miu, Tsz, Kun, To Yuen or Om, worship of gods or communication with spirits or fortune-telling is practised or is intended to be practised; and where
  (ii) fees, payments or rewards of any kind whatsoever are charged to or are accepted from any member of the public for the purpose of worship or communication with spirits or fortune-telling or any similar purpose, or in return for joss candles or incense sticks, or on any other account whatsoever.


Introduction of Chinese Temples Committee

The Chinese Temples Committee (the Committee) is a statutory body established in 1928 under the Chinese Temples Ordinance (Chapter 153). One of the key responsibilities of the Committee is to operate and manage 24 directly administered temple of which 4 are Declared Monument, Lin Fa Kung in Tai Hang,Hung Shing Temple in Ap Lei Chau,Hau Wong Temple in Junction Road, Yeung Hau Temple in Tai O and 4 are classified as Grade I Historic Buildings, include Kwun Yum Temple in Hung Hom and Tin Hau Temple in Joss House Bay.

The revenue of the Committee is first applied for the repair and maintenance of temples under the direct administration of the Committee and for the holding of customary ceremonies, any surplus may be transferred to the General Chinese Charities Fund (GCCF) managed by the Committee. Other than meeting the daily operational expenses of the Committee, GCCF also provides grants to other charitable organizations in addition to the making of annual grants to the Home Affairs Department for disbursement of financial assistance to needy persons of Chinese race.

The Committee has 7 appointed members and 24 co-opted members with the Secretary for Home Affairs as the Chairman. There are 5 Working Groups under the Committee, namely the Finance & Management Working Group, the Works Working Group, the Community Services Working Group, the Culture and Promotion Working Group and the Chinese Temples Ordinance Review Task Force. Decisions made by the Committee are carried out by its Secretariat.

Organization Chart of The Chinese Temples Committee

Organization Chart of The Chinese Temples Committee


Chinese Temples Committee Member List

Chairman Secretary for Home Affairs
Members Chairman of Tung Wah Group of Hospitals
  Dr LEE Ka-cheung
  Miss CHEN Ning-ning, BBS, JP
  Mr SO Yiu-wing
  Mr YIP Chun-to, Adrian, BBS, MH, JP
  Dr LEE Yuk-lun, BBS, JP
  Mr TSANG Chung-nam
Mr AU Chun-shing Mr CHAN Chi-hung Dr CHAN Tung, GBS, JP
Prof CHAN Yuk-kit, MH Dr LO Wai-cheung, Anthony Dr TANG Lap-kwong
Prof WONG Juen-kon Dr WONG Yee-man Mr YAU Yuk-ming
Dr LEE Ka-kui, Elvin, JP Ms LO Wing-sze, Anthea, JP Mr MA Ching-yuk, SBS, JP
Mr WONG Ching-hang, Jeffrey Prof LIU Tik-sang Ms CHAN Kar-man
Mr CHU Kwok-on Mr KO Hiu-wing Mr KWOK Pak-wai, Jeffrey
Ms TSE Hiu-hung Miss AU YEUNG So-hung,Heather Ms NIE Jing
Mr TSOI Chun-sing Miss ZHANG Ti Mr LUI Chi-wang, Robert Andrew

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0   Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme 2018-19   The Chinese Temples Committee has not authorized any third parties to conduct any commercial publicity, promotions or sales activities for its administered temples outside Hong Kong.